SABOR

cuisine + culture + california

mashed potato tacos

When an artist stares at a blank canvas, there’s no telling what comes to mind.  He might be thinking of rural pastures and simpler times.  Or dark alleyways and urban sprawl.  Perhaps the curves of a woman’s body.  He might be thinking all of the above, and that’s the beauty of a blank canvas.  Anything is possible.

A similar phenomenon occurs when I stare at a blank tortilla.  Images of different flavors and fillings flash across my mind’s eye at a thousand frames per second, to the point where writing them down seems useless.  So instead I just keep staring until something clicks and the images stop.

It usually starts with a single ingredient.  Maybe cilantro, maybe shrimp.  Today it started with potatoes. I’ve been eating a lot of them since I moved abroad, due to a certain wheat allergy and a certain Spanish affinity for adding potatoes to pretty much everything.  Combine that with some acute Mexican food withdrawals and you’ve got yourself a nice mental image to fill that blank canvas with.

 

I’d heard of potato tacos in the canon of Mexican food lore, but still had yet to try them. So I grabbed a few spuds and started peeling. Fast forward 15 or 20 minutes and I found myself staring face-to-face (mouth-to-mouth?) with a true culinary masterpiece. It wasn’t fancy. It wasn’t difficult. But it was utterly delicious and I’ve decided to give it permanent residence in my taco repertoire. You should too.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup masa harina (tortilla dough)
1/2 cup warm water
vegetable oil, for frying
4 medium potatoes, peeled and halved
3 tbsp garlic oil
1/3 cup milk
1/2 tsp cumin
salt and pepper

Directions: Mix the masa harina with the water. Add some salt and set aside.  In a large pot, boil the potatoes until tender (10-15 minutes).  Drain all of the water except 1/4 cup.  Add garlic oil, milk, and cumin. Mash until smooth.  Add salt and pepper, to taste.  In a medium sized pan, heat a thin layer of vegetable oil.  Roll the dough into 1/8 inch tortillas.  Fry each side for 2-3 minutes, or until crisp.  Fill the tortillas with mashed potatoes and anything else that sounds good (I used grilled salmon).

One comment on “mashed potato tacos

  1. Penescapes
    July 18, 2012

    Your writing is indeed creative, as are your recipes!

    I had never heard of frying the corn tortillas but this I must try as I have always been frustrated when I tried grilling them — they stick.

    And …papas in a tortilla ” es perfecto!”

    🙂

Leave a Comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2012 by in FOOD, Main Course, Mexico and tagged , , .
meserod.wordpress.com/

a little something to nosh on....

NBC Latino

cuisine + culture + california

i am a food blog

cuisine + culture + california

We Call Him Yes!Chef!

"because life is too short to eat crappy food"...Yes!Chef!

Food Republic

cuisine + culture + california

The Other Side of the Tortilla

cuisine + culture + california

seven spoons

cuisine + culture + california